Board members win international award for museum anthropology

The Council for Museum Anthropology is very pleased to announce that Dr. Leslie Witz and Dr. Noƫleen Murray are the recipients of the 2014 Michael M. Ames Award for Innovative Museum Anthroplogy.

Their long-term work with the Lwandle Migrant Labour Museum and their book Hostels, Homes, Museum: Memorializing Migrant Labour Pasts in Lwandle, South Africa (2014) exemplify the kind of pioneering work the Award is intended to acknowledge. Their work speaks to many of the issues and concerns of contemporary museum anthropology. We commend them for their long-term engagement with and research on the museum and the Lwandle community.

The award will be presented on Friday 5 December 2014 at the Council for Museum Anthropology reception during the annual meetings of the American Anthropological Association in Washington DC.